CAA: New travel advice for passengers – What changes on quarantine days

Under the new directive, quarantine days are reduced from ten to five for coronavirus positive travellers
The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) announces to the travelling public, the airline instructions for international flights with entry requirements to Greece that will be implemented from 06:00 on Monday morning, 10 January 2022 and will be valid until Monday, 24 January 2022.

The international flight instructions aimed at containing the pandemic and limiting the spread of COVID-19 provide for the following:

Test negative entry into Greece regardless of vaccination status for all travelers 5 years of age and older: all travelers to Greece, regardless of nationality and vaccination status, must have been diagnosed negative on a PCR test within the last seventy-two (72) hours or alternatively, have been diagnosed negative on a rapid test within twenty-four (24) hours prior to arrival in Greece.

Prohibitions of third country nationals: In accordance with the International Flight Directive, the prohibition of entry into Greece of third country nationals other than EU and Schengen Agreement countries including their spouses or persons with whom they have entered into a civil partnership and their minor children remains in force. Passengers travelling for essential reasons and permanent residents of the following 42 countries are excluded: Australia, North Macedonia, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, Belarus, China, Israel, Israel, New Zealand, Bahrain, New Zealand, Kuwait, Kuwait, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, South Korea, Singapore, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, United States of America, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican City, Monaco, Turkey, Argentina, India, Uruguay, Sultanate of Oman, Chile, Mexico, Kosovo* and Chinese Taipei**.

What PLF applies. The proof of completion of the PLF, which is automatically sent by e-mail to the passenger by the system, is considered a necessary travel document.

Checks on children from five (5) years of age and above: the requirement of the conditions for entry into Greece applies to children from five (5) years of age and above.

Sampling of travellers and temporary five (5) days quarantine in case of an outbreak: All international passengers will additionally be subject to rapid testing upon arrival, based on the procedure laid down in the Passenger Locator Form. In case of a positive test, quarantine/isolation will be applied for five (5) days, at home or in a suitable place of temporary accommodation indicated by the competent authorities. The temporary confinement shall start from the day following the day of their diagnosis as positive for COVID-19. After five (5) days and if there are no symptoms or if the symptoms have improved, with complete remission of fever for twenty-four (24) hours without the use of antipyretics, the temporary restriction shall end. If the fever persists after the five (5) days, the provisional restriction shall be extended until the fever has completely subsided. Such passengers shall be required to wear only a high respiratory protection mask (FFP2 or N95) or alternatively a double mask (surgical and cloth) for at least another five (5) days after the end of the restriction. All international passengers must strictly adhere to the instructions of our country’s health authorities.

Airline instruction for nationals of Argentina, Russia, India, Uruguay, Uruguay, Sultanate of Oman, Mexico and Chile: Permanent residents of these third countries, in addition to all other requirements for entry into Greece provided by the Foreign Flight Aviation Directive, will enter with the additional requirement to undergo mandatory testing at the arrival airport regardless of their vaccination status.

Compulsory testing on arrival for travellers, irrespective of their nationality, from the following 16 countries: Passengers from Albania, Albania, Argentina, Bulgaria, Brazil, Brazil, Brazil, China, Cuba, Egypt, Georgia, India, Libya, Morocco, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Russia, Russia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and United Arab Emirates, irrespective of their nationality, will be required to undergo a mandatory test at the airport of arrival. This airline directive only applies to passengers who have not been vaccinated as there is an exemption for travellers/passengers who are vaccinated or have contracted Covid-19.

The use of a mask is mandatory: Staff and passengers are required to wear a protective mask in the arrivals and waiting areas in airports and during flights. Passengers shall also be required to comply with the instructions of airport or airline staff and temporary staff responsible for supervising, crowd management and passenger assistance, in order to maintain the necessary distances and ensure controlled boarding and disembarkation and waiting in order to avoid overcrowding. Checks on the above documents shall be carried out by airline employees and on a random basis by the police authorities. Airlines are obliged to check the passenger before boarding to confirm that he or she has the necessary documents and, in the event of infringement, are obliged to repatriate the passenger at their own risk and expense.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *